The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo

£7.99


Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of The Poet X for collection at Daunt Books Summertown. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this item is ready for collection. For delivery by post add the address to the order notes and we will be in touch to arrange payment.

Children's & Teenage

Paperback

9781405291460

Published by Egmont UK Ltd

Published May 2018

Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019 

Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself.

When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written – dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith – this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy and Everything Everything, The Children of Blood and Bone, The Hate U Give and One. 

Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has delivered several TED Talks. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

What’s the T? by Juno Dawson | 9781526362827

What’s the T?

Juno Dawson

£8.99

You Are A Champion by Marcus Rashford | 9781529068177

You Are A Champion

Marcus Rashford

£9.99

Lunch at 10 Pomegranate Street by Felicita Sala | 9781912854158

Lunch at 10 Pomegranate Street

Felicita Sala

£8.99

This Poison Heart by Kalynn Bayron | 9781526632791

This Poison Heart

Kalynn Bayron

£7.99

The Secret Detectives by Ella Risbridger | 9781788006002

The Secret Detectives

Ella Risbridger

£7.99

High Rise Mystery by Sharna Jackson | 9781999642518

High Rise Mystery

Sharna Jackson

£6.99