The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo

£7.99


Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of The Poet X for collection at Daunt Books Summertown. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this item is ready for collection. For delivery by post add the address to the order notes and we will be in touch to arrange payment.

Children's & Teenage

Paperback

9781405291460

Published by Egmont UK Ltd

Published May 2018

Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019 

Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself.

When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written – dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith – this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy and Everything Everything, The Children of Blood and Bone, The Hate U Give and One. 

Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has delivered several TED Talks. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

Kate on the Case by Hannah Peck | 9781848129702

Kate on the Case

Hannah Peck

£6.99

The Boy Who Met A Whale by Nizrana Farook | 9781788009430

The Boy Who Met A Whale

Nizrana Farook

£7.99

Octopus Socktopus by Nick Sharratt | 9780702300981

Octopus Socktopus

Nick Sharratt

£6.99

Ocean: A Visual Miscellany by Ricardo Henriques | 9781452155265

Ocean: A Visual Miscellany

Ricardo Henriques

£13.99

Julian Is a Mermaid by Jessica Love | 9781406386424

Julian Is a Mermaid

Jessica Love

£6.99

The Impossible Boy by Ben Brooks | 9781786541048

The Impossible Boy

Ben Brooks

£6.99