The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo

£7.99


Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of The Poet X for collection at Daunt Books Summertown. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this item is ready for collection. For delivery by post add the address to the order notes and we will be in touch to arrange payment.


    Children's & Teenage

    Paperback

    9781405291460

    Published by Egmont UK Ltd

    Published May 2018

    Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019 

    Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

    Xiomara has always kept her words to herself.

    When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

    A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written – dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith – this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy and Everything Everything, The Children of Blood and Bone, The Hate U Give and One. 

    Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has delivered several TED Talks. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

    Like a Charm by Elle McNicoll | 9781913311278

    Like a Charm

    Elle McNicoll

    £6.99

    The Last Bear by Hannah Gold | 9780008411312

    The Last Bear

    Hannah Gold

    £7.99

    Wranglestone by Darren Charlton | 9781788951210

    Wranglestone

    Darren Charlton

    £7.99

    Everything Under the Sun by Molly Oldfield | 9780241433461

    Everything Under the Sun

    Molly Oldfield

    £25

    Where’s Brian’s Bottom? by Rob Jones | 9781843654667

    Where’s Brian’s Bottom?

    Rob Jones

    £6.99

    Stuntboy, in the Meantime by Jason Reynolds | 9781913311247

    Stuntboy, in the Meantime

    Jason Reynolds

    £7.99