The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo

£7.99


Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of The Poet X for collection at Daunt Books Summertown. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this title is ready for collection.

Children's & Teenage

Paperback

9781405291460

Published by Egmont UK Ltd

Published May 2018

Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019 

Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself.

When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written – dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith – this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy and Everything Everything, The Children of Blood and Bone, The Hate U Give and One. 

Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has delivered several TED Talks. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

Julian Is a Mermaid by Jessica Love | 9781406386424

Julian Is a Mermaid

Jessica Love

£6.99

The Impossible Boy by Ben Brooks | 9781786541048

The Impossible Boy

Ben Brooks

£6.99

Like the Ocean We Rise by Nicola Edwards | 9781838910297

Like the Ocean We Rise

Nicola Edwards

£12.99

The Secret of Black Rock by Joe Todd-Stanton | 9781911171744

The Secret of Black Rock

Joe Todd-Stanton

£6.99

The Song of the Tree by Coralie Bickford-Smith | 9780241367216

The Song of the Tree

Coralie Bickford-Smith

£14.99

What A Waste: Rubbish, Recycling, and Protecting our Planet by Jess French | 9780241366912

What A Waste: Rubbish, Recycling, and Protecting our Planet

Jess French

£9.99